Buhari Nominates Six Commissioners For INEC, Five For NPC


President Muhammadu Buhari has notified the Senate of the nomination of six commissioners for the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) and five commissioners for the National Population Commission (NPC).

Senate President Bukola Saraki read the two letters of President Buhari during Thursday’s sitting in which the president requested the confirmation of the appointees.

Buhari in the letters said he sought for the confirmation of the nominees in line with section 154 (1) of the 1999 constitution (as amended).

ALSO READ:  Cameroonian President, Paul Biya Pledges Support for Buhari on Boko Haram War

The six commissioners for INEC are Mohammed Kudu Haruna (North-Central); AVM Ahmed Tijani Mu’azu (North-East); Abubakar Ahmed Nahuche (North-West); Prof Okechukwu Obinna Ibeanu (South-East); May Agbamuche Mbu, (South-South) and Dr Adekunle Ladipo Ogunmola (South-West).

The NPC commissioners are Dr. Eyitayo Oyetunji (Oyo State); Barrister Patricia Iyanya (Benue); Benedict Ukpong (Akwa Ibom); Dr Haliru Bala (Kebbi) and Gloria Fateya Izonfuo (Bayelsa).

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Trending this week

To Top