Government & Politics

Edo 2016: INEC Clears Obaseki, Ize-Iyamu, 17 others


The Independent National Electoral Commission on Thursday in Abuja released what it called the final list of candidates for the Edo State governorship election.

The election is scheduled to hold on Saturday, September 10.

In a document signed and issued by the Secretary to the commission, Mrs. Augusta C. Ogakwu, the commission said that 19 political parties and their candidates had been cleared to contest the election.

The release of the list, the commission said, was in furtherance of the Electoral Act which stipulates that it must publish the list, at least, 30 days before the election.

Section 34 of the Electoral Act 2010 (as amended) provides that, “The commission shall, at least 30 days before the day of the election, publish by displaying or causing to be displayed at the relevant office(s) of the commission and on the commission’s website, a statement on the full names and addresses of all candidates standing nominated.”

ALSO READ:  FG Re-opens N-Power Portal For Another Round Of Recruitment Today

Surprisingly, the commission again picked Mr. Osagie Ize-Iyamu and John Yakubu as the governorship and deputy governorship candidates of the Peoples Democratic Party.

This shows that the commission has rejected the candidate of the factional National Chairman of the party, Senator Ali Modu Sheriff for the position.

Sheriff, who is in court fighting his alleged removal from office, equally forwarded the name of Mr. Mathew Idorioyekemwen as the candidate of the PDP for the election.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Trending this week

To Top