Government & Politics

FCT Elections: APC Candidate Floors PDP in Bwari Council, Abuja

The candidate of the ruling party, APC has emerged victorious in Bwari council following an announcement by INEC.

The chairmanship candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Musa Dikko,  has been declared the winner of the Bwari Area Council in Saturday’s council elections in Abuja, the Federal Capital Territory according to TheNews.

Mr Abubakar Abba, Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Returning Officer for the election in the council area, who announced the result in Bwari on Sunday, said  Dikko polled 18,066 votes to win the election.

According to him, Dikko defeated his closest opponent of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Andrew Gwani, who scored 13,279 votes.

ALSO READ:  ‘Yahoo boys’ Are Threat to Economy and Security of Nigerians – NSA

Other contestants in the election in which 32,662 voters participated, Abba announced, included Mr Wada Abdu of Action Alliance and Kenneth Olabaniji of Citizens Popular Party (CPP), who garnered 93 votes and 72 votes, respectively.

He said that the area council had a total of 162,786 registered voters, but that only 33,162 voters were accredited for the election.

Collation of the results started at 12.15 a.m. and ended at 8.36 a.m. on Sunday.

Results are being expected in five other councils in the Federal Capital Territory.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Trending this week

To Top