Government & Politics

INEC Releases Time Table For Rerun Elections In 15 States


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Tuesday released the time table for the rerun elections in 15 states.

Notice of the rerun election was contained in a statement issued and signed by the Secretary of the Commission,  Augusta  Ogakwu.

The elections according to the electoral body will only involve political parties that participated in the last election with their respective candidates.

The elections are for the electoral issues that terminated at the Appeal Court.

The statement read in part, “Stakeholders in the electoral process and INEC at their meeting held on Monday, February 1, 2016 considered and approved dates for the conduct of elections as ordered by the Court of Appeal.”

ALSO READ:  Edo Governorship Election Was PDP Vs INEC - Fayose

“Consequent upon the judgment of the court, the commission will conduct the elections in 69 of the said constituencies with the same political parties and their respective candidates.”

According to the released time table, constituent election for Gombe will hold on the January 27th, Adamawa, February 13th; Kaduna, Plateau, Niger, Benue, Nasarawa, Kogi, Taraba and Imo February 20th.

That of Abia, Anambra and Bayelsa have been scheduled for March 5th; Akwa Ibom slated for March 12th while Cross River and Rivers scheduled for 19th March.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Trending this week

To Top