Government & Politics

Kebbi Swears In 8 New Commissioners

nigeriana news app advert

Governor Abubakar Atiku Bagudu of Kebbi State has appointed new members of the state executive council.

The ceremony which took place yesterday at the government house in Birnin Kebbi was attended by politicians and top government functionaries.

Justice Asabe Karatu, who represented the state chief justice, Bala Mairiga performed the swearing- in of the eight new commissioners including Abubakar Bunu, Abubakar Ladan, Bala Kangiwa, Ibrahim Kamba, Ibrahim Augie, Adamu Ngaski. Rakiya Ayuba  was absent at the ceremony.

Justice Karatu also performed the swearing-in of three special advisers to the governor. These include the former speaker of the state assembly, Alhaji Aminu Jega, Navy Capt. Abubakar Muazu (rtd) and Dr. Fatima Bunza.

ALSO READ:  Marafa at Saraki’s Mercy As Senate Ethic Committee Recommends His Suspension

Bagudu, who supervised the ceremony said the new members executive council members were the first batch and tasked them to support his administration in moving the state forward.

He lamented that his administration had been weighed down by a debt of N83b acquired from his predecessor.

He stressed that the fall in global oil prices had further reduced the revenue earnings by the state from the federal government.

“I urge the new commissioners to think creatively in restoring the lost glory in the civil service,’’ he said.

He added that that his administration would accord priority to agriculture, education and health care delivery.

Make Money Online in Nigeria... Click HERE To Start Now!

To Top