Conte: Referee Made The Right Decision On Costa’s Tackle


Chelsea manager Antonio Conte says the referee “made the right decision” in taking no action against striker Diego Costa after his challenge on West Ham goalkeeper Adrian.

Costa, already booked, caught Adrian high on his shin in the second half.

Anthony Taylor did not produce a second yellow card and Costa went on to make it 2-1 to Chelsea in the 89th minute.

Conte said he “did not see” the tackle, adding: “I saw Costa put the pressure on the keeper and then try to stop.”

Chelsea led 1-0 when Costa made the challenge and even though James Collins equalised for West Ham, the Spain international settled the game with a low, 20-yard strike.

ALSO READ:  "It Would Be Awesome To Play Alongside Pogba One Day" - Atletico Madrid’s Griezmann Reveals

“It was not reckless or deliberate, but it was quite late,” said Hammers boss Slaven Bilic referring to the incident.

“He could have been booked again and so a red card. I am not frustrated because of that, I am frustrated because of the late goal.”

Referees have been instructed to book players who protest against decisions this season and Costa was initially cautioned for chasing Taylor following a penalty appeal.

“Diego is a good player and a passionate man – sometimes it happens that he can receive a yellow card,” Conte told Sky Sports.

“I think in the situation with Adriano the referee took the right decision.”



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Trending this week

To Top