Fifa Unveil Ballon d’Or Replacement


Global governing body Fifa have unveiled their own prize for the world’s most outstanding players, naming them “The Best Fifa Football Awards”.
The prizes, which will be handed out on January 9 2017, take the place of the Fifa Ballon d’Or, a five year merger between France Football’s prize and the governing body’s own World Player of the Year Award.

Prizes include The Best Fifa Men’s Player, The Best Fifa Women’s Player, similar prizes for Coaches, the Fifpro World 11 and the Puskas award for the best goal.

Voting for the prize will be split 50-50 between the choices of captains and head coaches of national teams and an online ballot combined with the submissions of journalists.

ALSO READ:  Sergio Ramos Denies Reports He Said Cristiano Ronaldo Doesn't Have To Work As Hard As His Teammates

The 23 candidates for The Best Fifa Men’s Player prize will be announced on November 4, with voting running until November 22. A three-strong shortlist will be announced on December 2.

France Football announced the 30 players in the running for the Ballon d’Or earlier this month. London stars Hugo Lloris and Dimitri Payet joined favourite Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Gareth Bale on the list of nominees.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Trending this week

To Top